Heroes every one of them

We’ve had World XIs, best county XIs and best England XIs but I don’t remember seeing anywhere anyone’s Heroes XI – ie a team of the players you admired when you were growing or after you grew up . So I thought I’d have a go myself. Feel free to join in and name your own. The only stipulation is that rather than just a list of names you admire/d it should be in the form of a team ie two openers, three in the middle order, an all-rounder, wicketkeeper, and four bowlers, of which one or two (your choice) should be a spinner. The fact that I supported Kent while watching Surrey as a nipper may have influenced my decisions. I will justify my selections at a later date Anyway, here goes:

1 Alan Butcher

2 Geoff Boycott

3 Geoff Howarth

4 Dilip Vengsarkar

5 Graham Roope

6 Bob Woolmer (batting all-rounder)

7 Alan Knott (wkt)

8 Intikhab Alam

9 Max Walker

10 Derek Underwood

11Peter Lever

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Heroes every one of them

  1. I will try my best to pick the players i enjoyed watching as i grew up.

    1. Mark Waugh
    2. Sachin Tendulkar
    3. Nick Knight
    4. Damien Martyn
    5. Jonty Rhodes
    6. Ian Harvey
    7. Alec Stewart(wk)
    8. Shane Warne
    9. Wasim Akram
    10.Angus Fraser
    11.Allan Donald

  2. Innocent Abroad

    This is a cunning stunt to get us to reveal how old we are, isn’t it? Oh well…

    Boycott, Brearley (c), Dexter, Gower, Tom Graveney, d’Oliviera, Botham, Knott (w), Snow, Underwood, Willis.

    I wanted to have Bob Barber as Boyc’s opening partner not only so they’d score more than 40 runs before lunch on the first day, but also ‘cos he was a left-hander and could bowl some leg-spin (Graveney will have to do that instead). But then I realised I hadn’t got a captain with any brain…

    Anyway, best of luck with the blog.

  3. You have been blog rolled over at CWB for having the good taste to put a Victorian all rounder in your XI.

  4. I had Innocent down as younger than that. OK, here’s mine, taking my teenage years as the appropriate age for heroising

    1. G Gooch, 2. D Haynes, 3. D Gower, 4. V Richards, 5. R Smith, 6. G Thorpe (or maybe J Rhodes, only for his fielding), 7. J Russell, 8. M Hughes, 9. D Topley, 10. P Such, 11. W Younis

    Two of my heroes at the time were Salim Malik and Hansie Cronje and I was tempted to include them but obviously the lustre has faded a bit since their playing days…

  5. John McNamara

    1 M Brearley *
    2 D Haynes
    3 V Richards
    4 M Gatting
    5 R Smith
    6 I Botham
    7 P Downton
    8 M Marshall
    9 W Daniel
    10 P Edmonds
    11 B Willis

    Obviously the future commentary career of two of these might be held against them but Willis was my first cricketing hero and Botham is a certainty in a team picked by someone who was 9 during he summer of 1981. I wanted Norman Cowans in there as well but you said I had t0 have a spinner. It breaks down quite neatly in 6 Middlesex players and 5 others and 7 England 4 West Indies

  6. lentheyorkshirekitman

    Arnie Sidebottom, the only player I ever saw bowl wearing a Groucho Marx-style false nose, mustache and glasses. The other ten are just making up the numbers.

Leave a Reply

